Skip to content ↓

Welcome to

The Adeyfield Academy


Curriculum Lead

Miss V Hime - Curriculum Lead Art, Design & Technology, & Child Development

Key Stage 4 BTEC Specifications

BTEC First Award Children’s Play, Learning & Development (GCSE equivalent)

Exam Board: Pearson

If you have an interest in children and would like to understand more about their development, then this course will be suitable for you. The course will give you a greater understanding as to how children behave in the way that they do and will teach you basic skills in caring for young children.

Course Content:

This course is an excellent foundation to studying child care. There are 3 broad topics of study:

  •             Patterns of Child Development
  •             Promoting Children’s Development through Play
  •             The Principles of Early Years Practice 

Students will begin to develop an understanding of the five areas of development and the expected milestones for the different ages of children from birth to age 8. The course also looks at the importance of play in a child’s learning and development. 

Mode of Assessment:

Currently the mode of assessment is 75% coursework and 25% examination. The majority of the course will focus on individual portfolio building through coursework.

Key Stage 5 BTEC Specifications

BTEC Extended Certificate Children’s Play, Learning & Development

Level of Course: 3

Exam Board: Pearson

Aim of course:

This course introduces the study of the child development sector. It has been developed in consultation with higher education to ensure it supports progression to higher education. The course will give an understanding of children's development from birth to the age of 8 years and offers students the opportunity to complete 50 hours of work placement to further develop their understanding.

Course Content:

There are 4 units:

Unit 1: Children’s Development 

Students will gain an understanding of children’s developmental progress from birth to seven year 11 months, students will learn about theories and models of developmental and relate them to the Early years foundation stage.

Unit 2: Development of Children’s Communication, Literacy and Numeracy skills 

In this unit you will be using your work placement and knowledge gained in the classroom to plan stage appropriate activities that encourage children's development and understanding and use exciting and interesting ways to help them find out more

Unit 3: Play and Learning

In this unit students will learn about the types of play and the opportunities that should be made to children at different ages. They will learn why play is important in development and look at important theoretical perspectives, philosophies and curriculum approaches. You will investigate these approaches through your work placement and research.

Unit 4: Children’s Physical Development, Care and Health needs

In this unit students look at children's physical needs and how to support them if they are unwell. They will look at the importance of routines, sleep and nutrition and how they impact holistically on a child’s development. Basic First aid will be covered.

Mode of Assessment:

Unit 1 - Children's Development: external written paper

Unit 2 - Development of Children’s Communication, Literacy and Numeracy skills: supervised task externally marked

Unit 3 - Play and Learning: internal task

Unit 4 - Children’s Physical Development, Care and Health needs: internal task

Get in touch

Miss Sam Rogers, School Business Manager

Hemel Hempstead

(To request a paper copy, please contact our Administration Department on the contact details below)

(01442) 406020